Holidays and Books and Reading

One of my cherished memories was an annual Christmas gift of a book from my mother. She had an uncanny knack for picking out a read perfect for me. One year she choose The Hands of Cantu by Tom Lea. The book was about a vaquero in old California that trained horses. Her enclosed note said simply, “these hands had a special talent as I am sure yours do.”

At that point in my life I was riding horses as often as I could saddle up. Mother had once ridden gaited horses in the show ring professionally. It felt deep down good for her to recognize my budding talents and love of horses.

To this day, I consider a book a special gift from me to another person and from the author to the reader. No two ways about it, books make a grand gift for your fellow readers and friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

